Strike a Pose

At some point during this project I expected to have some media attention. Over a year ago when I was formulating this initiative I thought interviews would take place in a nice earth toned office. I would be sipping my complimentary beverage while a reporter diligently took down every word I said. NOT!! I never even thought how the media might cover this project. I didn’t think it that far through. I thought media coverage would just happen. I didn’t think I would be out in the bitter cold, three layers thick, with winter gloves, boots and wool socks standing in a foot of snow posing for a photograph.  I didn’t think I would be forcing another media person politely requested to take more photos of me in action, out into this cold, pre-blizzard weather.  As we quickly ran across the slushy road to begin this outing I asked why they couldn’t have waited until spring, so I wasn’t all bundled up in huge coats. His reply was, “This shows how hard-core you are”.  Why thank you for noticing Mr. LSJ photographer.

*He mentioned that this article might run in Sunday’s paper.  When I hear for certain I will post on my Facebook and Twitter pages.

*Also photo used is a self-portrait and not one of the mentioned LSJ photographer’s. 🙂

3 responses to “Strike a Pose

  1. Stephany Humenik

    When I first moved to Lanisng four years ago, I was a non-traditional student in her 50’s. Living in the Grosbeck area, I would occasionally walk the 3-4 miles to LCC, taking different streets each time. I love what you are doing! It is an inspiration for me to get out there and walk more often. I will be following your blog and who knows?…perhaps we will cross paths one day!

  2. Ariniko, I loved reading your blogs about your travels, along with your pictures — some of which looked very familiar. I look forward to traveling with you via your blog and wish you the best on this special journey of chronicling the streets of Lansing. I am blogging about my own journey from same old to different and hope to learn a lot about myself and the surroundings through these writings, too. Walk on!

  3. We are all very proud of you sissy!

Leave a Reply

