Finding Rainbows


Today Evan was sick. He would not be going to school. The news, when heard by his twin sister, Ellie, immediately disrupted her world. She had awoken with a little extra sleep and danced into the kitchen bright cheeked and in great spirits. Now, she sat morosely staring downward; gigantic drops of tears falling onto her uneaten scrambled eggs. Despite bounding from her room with perfect health moments ago, she now was certain she also had a tummy ache. This, I think, is one of the hardest parts of being a parent; convincing a child that they must do something that they do not want to do. She sat at the table; chin quivering, tears flowing, unable to eat. She dramatically described a series of presumed scenarios one after another; no one would play with her, she would sit alone on the bus, she would be sad, growing more upset as she went. Like a good (bad?) mother I finally just said, you’re going to school. Let’s go take a shower. She pouted through the shower as well. After the shower, while getting dressed I realized she needed a pep talk. She needed me to give her a reason to not be afraid, not be sad and to have some courage to get her on her way. I told her that sometimes when things seem really bad or upsetting that God has a way of putting things in our path that make us feel better. It might be simple like a hug from the teacher or a smile from a friend, but it makes you feel better. I called them rainbows. I told her to go to school and find some rainbows. And I know she will.

This project is really all about finding the rainbows. We can walk around looking at how dark the clouds are or how much damage the storm made, but we can also hunt down, search for, collect and cherish all the rainbows too. In a way, you can’t have one without the other. If all the quaint intersections were as well put together as Old Town then it would diminish the awe and beauty of that area. If everywhere was perfect light then we wouldn’t appreciate how bright each lamp was. It’s like realizing that the cold, blistering wind is blowing in your face. But it is also making that melodious wind chime sing. I noticed many trees down from our snow storm. But that will become the logs that fill the hearth that families will warm in front of.

So as I walked the Colonial Village area today I took extra notice of the little things that made me smile and lightened my heart and added them to my rainbow list.

Long conversations with friends (errands before my walk)

Poodle dogs in winter sweaters

Birch Trees

Seasonal lawn decorations (especially Christmas)

A polite wave or verbal hello from a passerby

Seeing my car after a long walk

Pink tinsel

5 responses to “Finding Rainbows

  1. You are awesome. God has given you a heart and a voice, please cherrish them.

  2. Lovely post, Ariniko. It is indeed the little things that make life so special and carry us through each day.

  3. Pingback: Lifting the Fog | City Saunter

  4. I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme.
    Did you design this website yourself or did you hire someone
    to do it for you? Plz reply as I’m looking to construct my own blog and would like to know where u got this from. thank you

Leave a Reply

