Walking in the Rain


My intent today was to walk in the rain. I knew it was going to rain off and on today and I decided to use that to my advantage and add dynamic style to my photographs. It’s Thursday and our Lunch With a Purpose was scheduled at Lett’s Community Center. I still had some streets I needed to cover over there so I packed up and headed out two hours early.
After completing my walk and arriving back at the Lett’s Center, hair soaking wet (some from rain some from exertion), clothes clinging, shoes and socks slushing and map falling apart, I smiled at Lori Lanspeary from the Greater Lansing Visitor Bureau who was joining our group for LWP that day and said; “Sometimes an idea seems good until you actually do it and come back looking like this!” I then gestured to my appearance. We both laughed. It wasn’t that bad, though. I was on time for my lunch date, had walked for an hour, finished off that area and I saw a group of boys out playing football in the rain! All in all it was great!

For the next 45 minutes or so we packed items into donated blue LAFCU bags for Dream Camp; Sara Griffin’s brain child. I was able to speak to her for a moment about it and as exuberantly as a child anticipating the arrival of a new puppy she spoke about this event. She said the idea came in the shower. She then went on about collecting enough willing participants to make her dream a reality for the children in this community. She created it because she could. She got help because she asked and she provided it because she needs to.
I’ve also been on my own journey to create an amazing event. I’ve named it Peace of Lansing.
It will correspond with a global peace effort called Peace One Day. I started a smaller scale version last year and blogged about it. This year I have had the great fortune of collaborating with The Lansing City Market’s manager Heather Hymes. Without the fear of inviting too many people and not paying the rental fee, or not being able to offer bathrooms because I didn’t rent the pavilion, I really have been able to concentrate on the event itself. As it gets closer and closer I find myself acting more and more like a child explaining the arrival of a new puppy. There is something truly amazing with the idea that if you ask, people will help. If you invite, people will come. And if you give, people will give right alongside you.
Today on my way out of the Lett’s Community Center I was stopped by Heather Sheets and T.J. Duckett. They are both very active in community efforts including Lunch With a Purpose, Simple-T and New World Flood. I had been sending them information about my peace event for many months now. I listened to them tell me what they were thinking and willing to do for my peace event with a smile on my face and a tear in my eye. The quote on their website states; “A single raindrop is the beginning of the Flood”. And as T.J. is often noted for saying on social media; it’s time to be rainmakers.

Here is the information about Dream Camp:
Dream Camp
Friday August 10th, 2012, Letts Community Center, 1220 W. Kalamazoo, 11:30 am – 2:30 pm, 483-4311
Be healthy, be strong, be determined, be kind, be giving, be happy, be unique, be successful, be the change, JUST BE YOU!
Join members of the community who are among the best at what they do & learn about everything it took to get there. Take a lesson in basketball, yoga/breakdancing, meditation, football, art, comedy, or hip-hop music & enjoy lunch by BRAVO! Cucina Italiana. Get your mind, body & soul ready for your best year yet!
“Every dream begins with a dreamer. Always remember, you have within you the strength, the patience, and the passion to reach for the stars to change the world.” Harriet Tubman

Leave a Reply

